Board of Directors

The North Dakota Water Users Association is governed by a board of directors consisting of elected directors from nine districts, plus at-large directors. The board of directors serves as the resolutions and legislative committee. The executive vice president serves the board.

2016 Board of Directors

2016 Officers


Al Walter, Minot

First Vice President

Ken Royse, Bismarck

Second Vice President

David Lang, Sterling


Cary Backstrand, Bismarck

Executive Vice President

Michael Dwyer, Bismarck


Mark Cook

Carlyle Hillstrom

Larry Kassian

Kenny Rogers

Ken Vein

Ray Wolfer

Jeff Volk

Dennis Reep

Jim Lyons

Glenn McCrory


Todd Sando, ND State Water Commission

Roger Gunlikson, ND Irrigation Association

David Ashley, ND Water Resource Districts Association

Duane DeKrey, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District

Eric Volk, ND Rural Water Systems Association


Michael Dwyer, ND Water Users

Miranda Hoffert, ND Water Users

Jackie Nye, ND Water Education Foundation

Julie Ellingson, ND Water

Angela Magstadt, ND Water

District I

Gary Rust

Roger Gunlikson*

Tyler Tjelde

District II

Tom Klein

Al Walter*

Maurice Foley

District III

Duane Ash

Kent Vesterso*

Sherwood Haakenson

District IV

Ben Varnson

Charles Vein*

District V

Arv Burvee

Sean Fredricks

Chad Engels*

District VI

Mike Tweed

Norman Haak*

Dave Koland*

District VII

Ken Royse*

Terry Fleck

David Lang*

District VIII

Duane Bueligen*

Ed Grunett

Harold Gaugler

District IX

Don Urlacher

Larry Stang

Larry Bares*

* Executive Committee